For some unknown reason the closer I get to achieving my goal of 80 cuisines, the slower I have become at visiting places and writing them up. My visit to Oma Marnie’s New Zealand pie stall was way back in November and therefore some details are a bit sketchy but the memories are warm.

Oma Marnie’s authentic New Zealand pie stall is based in Kreuzberg’s foodie heaven Markthalle Neun. This is a huge food hall which has permanent stalls that you can visit daily as well as a weekly streetfood market on Thursday evenings, plus other food events such as cheese or wine tastings and a monthly Sunday breakfast market. Oma Marnie is a permanent stall that you can visit most days and offers a delicious range of New Zealand pies. According to their facebook there is also a shop in Prenzlauer Berg which is good news for North Berliners.

As a Brit the concept of a New Zealand or Aussie pie was foreign to me before moving to Berlin, however I soon discovered that our Antipodean cousins are as much fans of the filled savory pie as the British; all the pie shops in Berlin seem to be either Aussie or New Zealand owned such as Oma Marnie and Hello Good Pie. Thankfully they’ve not gone crazy with the format and have kept the essentials of a good British pie and the offerings I have seen are as familiar and as yummy and comforting as a good pie should be.

This was the first visit for the blog in which I have got takeaway as it was a lunchtime and Richard was working at home so I bought the pies after German class and swiftly cycled home with them in my rucksack to keep them warm. I chose one each of salmon, braised beef, and egg & bacon for us to share, plus a New Zealand beer and a sausage roll to eat on the train for our journey to Prague the next morning. Each pie was delicious, with good pastry and generous well seasoned fillings. Three between two was more than enough and at 4 euros per pie (compared to my usual 3 euro falafel lunches), we won’t be making this a usual weekday lunch option instead visiting as a treat.

Writing this deep in the middle of winter is making me drool at the concept of returning for a lovely, warm, savoury pie but unfortunately I would have to leave the house in orderr to get them… hmmmn…

Rating: 8/10

Price Range : Cheap eats

Address: Markthalle 9, Eisenbahnstrasse, Kreuzberg, Berlin

Website: http://www.omamarnies.com/

